Tuesday, August 29, 2006

2006 Prometheus Awards

The Libertarian Futurist Society announced this years' winners of the Prometheus Awards on Friday at the 64th World Science Fiction Convention.

Ken MacLeod won this year's Prometheus award for Best Novel for Learning the World.

Alan Moore and David Lloyd won the Award for Best Classic Fiction (the Hall of Fame award) for their graphic novel "V for Vendetta". David Lloyd accepted the award.

Joss Whedon's film, Serenity, won a Special Prometheus Award. The award's dedication read "To 'Serenity', writer-director Joss Whedon's fun-loving and pro-freedom movie that portrays resistance fighters struggling against oppressive collectivism (based on the unfortunately short-lived TV series Firefly)." Morena Baccarin, who plays Inara in the series, accepted the award.

Wally Conger had the details on who accepted the awards; Anders Monsen linked to Wally's post.

No comments: